42

Well I finally broke down and watched 42. Great movie! Why? It reminds me how important sports once was and how teamwork and talent were what mattered. Now it’s all about money with talent sprinkled in, after all, who is really worth 250 million dollars to play a game? Baseball was king and rightly so, I loved so much to play. I remember spending a summer in Arkansas with my Aunt and Uncle, my uncle a real serious sports fan and baseball genius. I was so sad that I was too old to play little league with my cousins….. I was a few months too old, what a bummer! To their credit, they always played sandlot baseball with me and their other friends after their games! The summer of ’69 the end of decade but we were old enough to understand changes were all about. We revered Mr. Robinson, the Say Hey Kid, Roberto, Lou, Mickey and all the rest of the heroes. One of my friends grew up to be a renown sports writer appearing on ESPN several times and another dear friend until his untimely death still participated in organized athletics. We used to call ourselves the 196th Street Bombers! Played baseball for the St. Albans Baptist Giants. We were good, my dear friend Papo pitched so well he only needed a run or two and could pitch for the win! Yes, sports was a binder, a uniter, an escape and the show! Those were good times.

Leave a Reply

